1. Finding my first allotment

It was following a chat with my hairdresser that I stopped by my local allotment site on the way home. Luckily, someone was there to unlock the gate and show me round and I was soon filling out an application form. Less than a month later I was offered Plot 25, and on 1st April 2017 (All Fools Day?!) I took possession of a 4 rod patch of self sufficiency.

I’m not sure what I was expecting or hoping for from my first plot, but I was pleasantly surprised and extremely lucky to be offered a plot that already had a rickety shed and an old greenhouse. It also had a compost bin that had seen better days. These are all good things, because it gives me something to start off with. The site was also complete with a small apple tree and some rhubarb, so I feel a crumble coming on already!

So, raring  to go, my first day arrived and while not there at the crack of dawn, I did manage to to load up the car with a few handy tools and head off down there for a couple of hours.

Leave a Reply

